Friday, January 16, 2015

Book Review | Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy

22544091



Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—the second novel in New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy’s sizzling series about three powerhouse sisters and the men who would have their hearts.

People say the youngest child has it easy, but nothing can be further from the truth. Unlike my two sisters, Violet and Lily, I’m never in the limelight. I just work my butt off for Fleur Cosmetics and get little to no thanks for it. I’ve been pushed too far one too many times, and I’m finally brave enough to do something about it.

Maybe my newfound courage has something to do with the amazing pink and white diamond necklace I wear to the party in Cannes. The instant those dazzling heirloom jewels touch my skin, they excite some deep, aching need inside. And when that guy—that totally gorgeous guy—locks eyes with me, I know this nice girl is going to be naughty.

For once it’s my turn. My turn to say no to my father, to outshine my sisters, to walk away from it all—straight into the arms of a mysterious stranger. But what if Caden is much more than I bargained for? Sure, he makes me feel sexy and free in a way I never have before, but there’s something else I can’t quite place—something dangerous. Maybe our “chance” meeting wasn’t so random. Maybe he was looking for me for a reason. Whatever his motive, there’s no going back now.

And maybe I don’t want to.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png



The love of a good woman can change... everything.

Change is the only permanent thing in the world, and I always believe that there is good even in the worst kind of person.

Rose had always been the ‘good daughter’, the one who can’t do any harm, the one they can always depend on – and she was freakin’ tired of it. She was tired of being the wallflower, of being underappreciated, of having that position in the company because of her last name.  She wanted to be just like Lily. She wanted to be free, she wanted out of the Fleur Cosmetics, she didn’t want to see her father parading Pilar or the latter with the smug on her face.

some_text

It started with a dress in a party in Cannes, she wanted to show her defiance in a not-so-subtle way. Then her grandmother gave her THE NECKLACE she thought would go to Lily, the eldest. Then there was this guy…

This guy who made her threw cautions into the wind. The one who made her feel that she was special, that she was more than her sisters, that she was something important. But is there more to him that what meets the eye?

Their chemistry was exploding all over the pages. It lingered until the very last page. It’s uber-hot, sinful and much steamier compared to the first book. It had more, more, more sex. They couldn’t get their hands off each other, it was like they we’re doing it on every single page (Not that I’m complaining). The air of mystery that surrounds Caden’s identity just added spice to the whole book.  It felt a little familiar considering what Ryder did in the first book: deceit and all that, nevertheless it didn’t make me love the book less.

I’m going to insert the big BUT somewhere here – because I fell in love with the first book, and I was looking forward for the continuation of it in the second book. I wanted to know more what happened to their father and Pilar. The situation in Owning Violet had me hanging, I was looking forward in reading Stealing Rose in hopes that I could finally watch Pilar being escorted out of the building, but to no avail. There was a mention of them, and how Pilar was luring her father – but not more. Much to my disappointment. And there’s this safe-sex issue which had me shaking my head: OMG – are you two in high school?! Do you need to have another lecture about the birds and the bees?

To end, I like the book. I finished it in one sitting. I admire Caden’s owning up to his mistakes, admitting it and willing to accept the consequences of what he did. It was a little heartbreaking, but I love what she did at the ending.  I can’t wait for Lily’s story!!!

Rating: 3.5-4/5
STEAM: 5


21965297

Purchase Links:
Books a Million: http://bit.ly/YUMZLj


  
I write books. I have the best job ever. New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Writer of new adult contemporary romance-ish stuff. Published with Avon and Bantam. Mom and wife. Native Californian.
For more information, please visit my website at http://monicamurphyauthor.comor sign up for my newsletter (copy and paste the link into your browser):http://bit.ly/IW5U0y
I'm also known as USA Today bestseller romance author Karen Erickson (http://karenerickson.com).


Connect with Monica: Website  |  Blog  |  Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Author Goodreads  |  Amazon author page 

No comments:

Post a Comment