Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Book Review | Detoured by Love by Michelle Lynn (@michellelynnbks)

31555542



Bryant Garrity isn’t irresistible. 

His lengthy resume of Heisman Trophy winner, number one draft pick and highest paid player isn’t all that impressive. The fact his chiseled jaw and mesmerizing blue eyes have probably made him Mr. Popularity from the age of five isn’t going to work on me. Not when I have goals—goals that don’t include finding myself on an all pro-football heartthrobs checklist. 

Carly Lincoln is different.

I could go on and on about her dark wavy curls, her pouty pink lips, or her whiskey-on-the-rock eyes that reveal her truest desires. The fact she’s not impressed by my sports superstar aura like most women makes her worth more than a fling. But this year is my last shot at glory after crumbling to a mere mortal on the game’s biggest stage. My focus needs to be on the ring, not turning Carly’s no's to yes's.

Carly and Bryant’s paths are about to collide, and they better be prepared to fight for what matters most because life’s paths aren’t all sunshine and winding roads. 

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Purchase Link:  http://amzn.to/2hrSGeP
I'm a little late in reviewing and reading this book - but by far, this is one of the best books I have read this year! 

I love everything Michelle Lynn writes, she's one of my favorites - but with Detoured by Love she have outdone herself. I was looking forward for another great read, the one that will have my heart beating hard, and my knees weaken but I didn't expect for this book to make me cry. Argh. My heart ached so hard, and I couldn't breathe. The pain, the suffering was palpable, and I do wish that the characters won't be so hard on themselves and choose their HEA despite all the circumstances that were thrown at them. Yes, this isn't your ordinary love story - it might have started out that way: hot-sports super star meets an ordinary beautiful girl and they fell in love.

There is more to it. The story opened my eyes that all of us should choose happiness rather than wallow in our suffering. We should embrace everything good that is happening and present in our lives and choose to live rather than push people and moments away. 

There's romance, there's enough steam, and enough drama to put this one on TOP of your reading list, plus an author's note that equally breaks my heart and made me understand how this story means so much to the author. 


5 Stars



USA Today Bestselling author, Michelle Lynn moved around the Midwest most of her life, transferring from school to school before settling down in the outskirts of Chicago ten years ago, where she now resides with her husband and two kids.  She developed a love of reading at a young age, which helped lay the foundation for her passion to write.   With the encouragement of her family, she finally sat down and wrote one of the many stories that have been floating around in her head. When she isn’t reading or writing, she can be found playing with her kids, talking to her mom on the phone, or hanging out with her family and friends.  But after chasing around twin preschoolers all day, she always cherishes her relaxation time after putting the kids to bed.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads 


 photo ARC _zpszisq6ios.png

 photo signature_zps54068e08.png

Busy Me

I haven't been posting for while. I missed some review posts. I have been busy with work, and my responsibilities with the organization, although I have tried to catch up on my reading list (and I am still way behind my reading challenge on Goodreads).

I am looking forward for 2017 where I will have less obligations, and more time to read (errrr more focused on my goal with regards to my career - I CAN DO THIS WHILE READING AND WRITING REVIEWS, right? LOL)

So I hope you forgive me for slacking out and being too tired to type my reviews! Although I get to post (VERY) short reviews in my Goodreads Account, as well as my Instagram Account.




 photo signature_zps54068e08.png

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

ARC Review | A Night of Forever by Bronwen Evans (@BronwenEvans_NZ)

28813971


Distrust is no match for desire as a proper young miss and a self-professed rogue hunt down a murderer in this thrilling Disgraced Lords novel from the USA Today bestselling author of A Kiss of Lies and A Taste of Seduction.

Arend Aubury trusts no one besides his fellow Libertine Scholars. After his family escaped from France, penniless and persecuted, only the Scholars took him in. So when the stepdaughter of the villainess who has been plotting against them approaches Arend with allegations against their enemy, he suspects a double cross. Yet Isobel is a tantalizing prize, with lips as sweet as champagne and skin as creamy as Camembert. Is she a feast for the senses—or a bitter trap?

Lady Isobel Thompson dreams of marrying an honorable gentleman with a spotless reputation, a trait that Arend seems to lack completely. But Isobel believes that her stepmother is responsible for her father’s death, and only Arend has the skills to uncover the truth. As a cover, Arend suggests a fake betrothal—and soon Isobel finds herself forgetting that their courtship is a ploy. He’s so different from the man of her fantasies, and yet he’s so terribly handsome, so dangerously intoxicating—and all Isobel wants is more.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/2bkth8j
Series Links: http://amzn.to/2bTyiAh

Sunday, October 23, 2016

ARC Review | Love at First Sit by Ysa Arcangel (@Ysa_Arcangel)

32335686


Roxanne Mabini, joined a speed-dating event just for fun and to get "speed-dating" checked off her bucket list. She wasn't looking for anything.

...Until the devastatingly handsome bartender, Aloysius "Wish" Gregorio, stepped up to fill in for the lack of male participants, mesmerizing Roxanne. Literally, he was every girl's wish.

Finally, she's met a man who shares her interests. But will a girl whose heart has been shred to pieces learn to trust and love again?

When Roxanne's first love, Chris, drops back into her life, old flames reignite. Chris has been waiting for the right time ever since he was forced to leave her, and now he aims to win her back.

Will the chemistry and powerful connection between Roxanne and Wish be strong enough to fight the old flame that is once again burning bright?

Roxanne must make a big decision: provide a complete family to her children, or share her life with her heart's desire. Will she find love, lose it, or know when to walk away? 

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Purchase Links: http://amzn.to/2e0ssh8

Saturday, October 22, 2016

ARC Book Review | Outlaw's Promise by Helena Newbury (@HelenaAuthor)


32693518She was just a kid when she found me lying injured beside the road and saved my life. I promised her I’d return if she ever needed me. Twelve years later, I answer the phone and hear her voice: a biker gang’s about to sell her to the highest bidder. I tear the place apart and we roar off on my Harley...but the kid I remember has grown up into a woman I can’t resist, with long red hair and curves that don’t quit. And now she thinks I’m a goddamn hero.

Every time we ride and her body presses against mine, I just want to rip her dress right off. Neither of us can resist...but for her sake, I can’t let her get close. She claims there’s still good in me but she doesn’t know how much blood I’ve got on my hands. Now the gang who took her want her back and they’re willing to destroy my whole MC to get her. But it’s too late. I’ve fallen for her. And I’m never letting her go.

Standalone bad boy romantic suspense with HEA, no cheating.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/2dwMY82


Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | Tempting Tristan by Melissa Foster (@Melissa_Foster)


Tempting Tristan
Harborside Nights Series #3
By: Melissa Foster
Releasing October 19, 2016
EverAfter Romance

 Purchase: Amazon | B & N | Google | iTunes | Kobo

ARC Review | Hard to Fall by Marquita Valentine (@marquitaval)

30052610


Wedding bells are ringing—and tempers are flaring—as the Take the Fall series continues in this sweet, sexy novel from the bestselling author of After We Fall (“This beautiful story kept me transfixed until the very end.”—Krista Lakes).

As a hardworking, hard-partying firefighter, Hayden Walker values his career and his freedom. But as the eldest son of a U.S. senator, he agreed long ago to follow in his father’s footsteps and run for office, and that means settling down and marrying the picture-perfect wife. Hayden just isn’t ready for that sort of commitment . . . not with women like beautiful, curvy Saylor Dean—the naughty bridesmaid he recognizes the morning after his buddy’s wedding—tempting Hayden to stay single forever.

The unwanted love child of a well-known politician, Saylor has always felt isolated and alone, her only solace the animal shelter she runs in Forrestville. Then she meets Hayden at her best friend’s wedding. During their impulsive and unforgettable night together, Saylor feels desired like never before—only to wake up and find that Hayden doesn’t remember his drunken proposal, or their hasty marriage, or her. But when the truth comes out, Saylor finds it’s a lot harder to fall out of love than in love.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/2apJAxC

Series Link: http://amzn.to/2adpp2W
Series Review: http://bit.ly/2aCeljV

I’d never get tired of this series. This is my fourth from TAKE THE FALL, and it remains awesome. From the characters, the storyline and the twists, it will make you fall in love in a matter of pages.

Hard to Fall tells the story of Hayden and Saylor – both have deep secrets that they have been hiding. Hayden is the eldest son of a US Senator and was destined to follow his father’s footsteps, only that he really doesn’t like it. He loves being a firefighter and wasn’t ready to give it up. Saylor, on the other hand, is a softie when it comes to animals. She owns a pet-rescue and she’s a product of a movie star and a politician. She practically grew up on her own, her mother tried, but her father practically ignored her until he found out that she was seeing Hayden.  

They started on the wrong foot. One of them forgot everything that happened after their friend’s wedding, and one was not sure whether it was a good idea to tell the other person of what happened. What happens when the secret gets out of the box? Will is start their HEA? Or will it end something that has a promising beginning?

Somehow, Marquita Valentine kept (some of the) secret(s) – most of which I was dying to know! But the rest came out on their own time. Practically, the book did not run out of surprises and twists.

It was easy to love them both, with all their insecurities, baggage and apprehensions, most especially their secrets! It makes them more real than merely characters in the book. I loved it and finished it in one sitting, and it ended beautifully!


Another must-read from Ms. Valentine!

Rating: 5 Stars!

Marquita Valentine is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Holland Springs and Boys of the South series, having sold more than a quarter of a million books around the world. She’s been called “one of the best new voices in romance” (Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews) and her books have been praised as “sexy, fun, and slightly addicting” (The Book Queen). When she’s not writing sexy heroes who adore their sassy heroines, she enjoys shopping, reading, and spending time with her family and friends. Married to her high-school sweetheart, Marquita Valentine lives in a seriously small town in the south with her husband, two kids, and a dog.

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads


 
Follow me on: Twitter | Facebook | tsu | Instagram  |  Goodreads

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

ARC Review | Sugar Free by Sawyer Bennett (@bennettbooks)


28587653

Sela and Beck’s dark, riveting love story reaches its epic conclusion in the final chapter of Sawyer Bennett’s Sugar Bowl trilogy that began with the novels Sugar Daddy and Sugar Rush.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
• Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/2a9a73j
• Series Link: http://amzn.to/2ar8H0a

What a way to end this series! From two jaw-dropping cliffies, Sawyer Bennett had another nerve-wracking roller-coaster ride with the last book of the Sugar Bowl Series!

Sugar Free is the last book in the series. It was worth the wait will all the anticipation, the suspense and the thrill after being left with that powerful cliffy in book two! What happens then? Will they be able to prove her innocence? Or will she suffer from the consequences of her action?

Beck’s love for Sela is indeed unconditional, and he’d do everything to protect her. Even if it means getting the blame for what she did. He would not allow her to endure any hardship. Sela was torn in between. His sister respects his judgment and trusted his decisions, even if it doesn’t conform with the norm. Nevertheless, he was a man in love and he’d move heaven and earth to make sure Sela is okay. But the secrets torn him, the dark, vile secrets that JT has been keeping from him.

I wasn’t sure if he was making the right choices, but he was a man in love, and he just wanted to protect her and the people he loves. I approved with some of his decisions, and finally thought it was time for him to let go of some people. Somehow, despite the fact that I was ambivalent of Beck’s decisions and choices, I never questioned his love for Sela.

Just as I thought things would end that way, Sawyer Bennett gave me another twist that gave me so much relief: finally, the ending that I was looking forward is about to happen, and reading about it brought not just relief but wonderful bliss. It was like, finally! The ending that I have been dying to read is here! And Sawyer Bennett did not disappoint.

Rating: 5 Stars
New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author, Sawyer Bennett is a snarky southern woman and reformed trial lawyer who decided to finally start putting on paper all of the stories that were floating in her head. Her husband works for a Fortune 100 company which lets him fly all over the world while she stays at home with their daughter and three big, furry dogs who hog the bed. Sawyer would like to report she doesn't have many weaknesses but can be bribed with a nominal amount of milk chocolate.

Sawyer is the author of several contemporary romances including the popular Off Series, the Legal Affairs Series and the Last Call Series.

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads  | Pinterest  |  Instagram
 photo ARC _zpszisq6ios.png

 photo signature_zps54068e08.png

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

ARC Review | The Universe of Us by Lang Leav (@langleav)

29431081

Lang Leav presents a completely new collection of poetry with a celestial theme in The Universe of Us.

Planets, stars, and constellations feature prominently in this beautiful, original poetry collection from Lang Leav.  Inspired by the wonders of the universe, the best-selling poetess writes about love and loss, hope and hurt, being lost and found.  Lang's poetry encompasses the breadth of emotions we all experience and evokes universal feelings with her skillfully crafted words.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/2aRAAhY

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway | Behind Closed Doors by J.L. Berg (@authorjlberg)

Purchase Links: 
Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/2bWQ0Eb

ARC Review | Wicked Bond by Sawyer Bennett (@bennettbooks)

31247847



Bridger Payne is an enigma that no one can figure out. Wise beyond his years, eerily intuitive and sexy as hell, every woman in The Silo wants him.
None can have him.
Not the real man, anyway.
He might wield the lash for you if you ask prettily, but he’ll get no gratification from it. He’ll definitely make you scream, but he won’t think twice about you when he walks away.
Bridger carries the darkest of secrets. He’s filled with too much pain.
He’s utterly untouchable.
Until she came along.


**Warning: this book has sex in it. Lots of sex. Dirty sex. The Wicked Horse Series is a bit different than what Sawyer Bennett normally writes. While you’ll still enjoy fabulous characters, a suspenseful story, some witty banter and an epic romance, there’s just… a lot of sex. You’ve been warned.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Purchase Links:
Amazon - http://amzn.to/2cYFvCW
Series Purchase Link - http://amzn.to/2cdKEoO
Series Review Link - http://bit.ly/2crzBYk


I have been waiting for the mysterious Bridger Payne since the first book of the Wicked Horse Series and now he is finally here!

Sawyer Bennett had teased me, heightened my anticipation, and had me panting. I had great expectations in this book, in Bridger – and I wasn’t disappointed. Surely, Ms. Bennett had saved the best for last! And Bridger Payne ended The Wicked Horse Series fabulously.

The steam and sexiness of this book was already a given, but what surprised me most was getting to know the real Bridger. Indeed, he was a mystery to uncover and it was just a delight, at the same time heartbreaking to do so. He was a fierce protector, and he would do everything to keep Maggie safe.

Maggie was perfect for him. I love the strength and steadfastness of her character. She has her past, she wasn’t proud of it, but she was trying to change her life and save the people that she loves, and that includes Bridger now.

I love the fact that both their characters were given second chances both in love and life. It wasn’t an easy journey for the both of them, but the end was worth it. They had to slay their own demons before finally giving in to their HEA. I just feel sad that this series is about to end, but was happy that it ended with a bang. The Wicked Horse has introduced us to a great set of characters that we would always remember.

If you want to read something steamy, filled with a whole lot of romance and something else – you have to try this series!


Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads  | Pinterest  |  Instagram


Follow me on: Twitter | Facebook | tsu | Instagram  |  Goodreads

Book Review | The Spark by Autumn Doughton

31920732

Weddings are a time for magic, love, and... intense one-night stands?

The Spark is the first novelette in the sizzling 'Wedding' series and introduces readers to the romance of Mari Hudson and Andrew Reese. Dark, sexy, and powerful, this is one short read you won't want to miss. At under just 10,000 words, you can enjoy The Spark in a single sitting.

**Because of explicit content, this novelette is intended for a mature audience. 18+ please** 

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Purchase Link:
Amazon - http://amzn.to/2cWFZXf




This was a short, sweet, sexy read with a cliffy that made me want to jump off the plane. I finished this book in one sitting during my plane journey back home. 

Who doesn’t like weddings? It gives off a vibe of magical-happy-ever-after, love and some crazy one-night-stands.

The title lived up to its name. Sparks is all over the pages. From the moment they met, until they finally gave up to the attraction. The chemistry is just off-the-charts. Both Mari and Andrew are characters to watch out for!

I have read EVERY Autumn Doughton books, and this was way different from her usual, which was an awesome surprise! This was a great read, and the last page well, almost killed me. But it made me more excited for the next book in this series!!!


Rating: 4.5 Stars

Author Links: Website  |  Facebook  |  Instagram  |  Goodreads
Follow me on: Twitter | Facebook | tsu | Instagram  |  Goodreads

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

ARC Review | Turbulence by Whitney G. (@WhitGracia)

23293849



Fuck me recklessly
Kiss me harder.
Take me again and again… 

He and I met under a cloud of clich├ęs:
Boy meets girl. Boy charms girl. Boy fucks girl.
Our story was supposed to end right after the orgasms, right after we went our separate ways.

But then we saw each other again…
And neither of us could walk away.

Our rules were simple.
Our passion was scandalous.
Our hearts were supposed to be safe…

But when you find something so all-consuming—something so intoxicating and inescapable, you’ll risk everything you’ve ever had, even if you’re destined to crash and burn.

This is us.
This is our messed up love.
This is turbulence.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/2bV6ey0

Monday, August 22, 2016

ARC Review | The Rebel's Return by Victoria James (@vicjames101)


31193315







Natalia Puccini has spent her entire life playing by her overbearing but well-intentioned Italian family's rules...except the one time she took a chance on a bad boy and fell hard. She's worked to get her life back on track so when Aiden McCann comes sauntering back into town with his heart-stopping smile, Natalia vows not to fall for him again. There's no way she'll let him mess with her perfectly planned life...and there's no way she'll let him near her heart again...

Now reformed and a self-made success, Aiden is tormented by regrets and secrets. He left Red River years ago filled with anger and resentment and a promise to never come back. But when his ill father needs help, Aiden knows it's time to face the mess he left behind, and face the one woman he never got over. It doesn't matter how beautiful or intriguing she is, though, because he'll never be able to give her what she needs. As soon as his father is healthy, Aiden is leaving Red River...for good.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/2b2nP7O

[Series Link: http://amzn.to/2aGKOkC]


Natalia was the epitome of a good Italian daughter, she would do everything to please her family and not cause them any heartaches. Even if it means being the maid of honor to her overbearing cousin’s wedding. The sacrifices she made would make her a saint and I do not envy her. She was trying to live a happy, single and peaceful life until the bad boy she fell in love with over a decade ago came back into her life. She swore that she would never allow Aiden McCann to enter into her life and break her heart again. She should learn from her mistakes.

Aidan left Red River years ago and never look back, but a family emergency brought him back home, and back into the life of Natalia Puccini. He knew he did her wrong, and wished he could tell her what really happened. But he was only home for some weeks, and he had no intentions of staying. Their house held a lot of painful memories. If not for his father who needs his help (even if he doesn’t really say he needs it), he wouldn’t be in Red River. But thinking about not going back, and seeing the love of his life in the flesh is different. No matter how much he wants her, he couldn’t give what she needs. As soon as his father is okay, he was going to leave Red River and would not come back.

I love how the story came about. It may lack the usual steam I got used to, but it was sweet, and had a dash of sexy in it. They tried to fight their emotions, but it was just useless. I love how things work out for Aidan. It made me shed some tears. What happened between him and his father was heartbreaking, but I was glad someone was trying, and someone was apologizing. I was also happy Nat was finally standing up for herself and not allowing her family (well, some of them) to step on her. It was brave of her to do so.

The Rebel’s Return is a short read. This is a story of love, second chances, friendship and family. 


Author Links: Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads
Follow me on: Twitter | Facebook | tsu | Instagram  |  Goodreads