Wednesday, August 26, 2015

ARC Review | Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne


23636581


In a novel that's perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they're still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland's trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker's boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben's no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can't seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker's ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can't go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.


 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png

Purchase Links:
❈ Amazon Kindle ➙ http://amzn.to/1EjqgwQ
❈ B&N ➙ http://bit.ly/1V9yxYi
❈ iTunes ➙ http://apple.co/1K0EAfV




Parker and Ben have been best friends and have been roommates since they were in college. They weren't really into each other in the beginning. You can feel that it was really platonic between the two of them. Ben was having sleepovers and Parker was in a committed relationship. Their world was ordinary: just Ben, Parker, and their banters until Parker got dumped by her long-time boyfriend and decided to get sex without any strings attached.

This is where things got a little complicated....

She offered, and he was caught off-guard. He didn't really say no, after all he was a man, and he was not blind. The offer was very, very tempting...


There goes the chemistry between these two... 

 photo tumblr_m1esriGaak1rsusrao1_500_zps563792ed.gif


 photo tumblr_lwkxq9RwCW1qjjb4s_zps5e445e48.gif

Sex was amazing, and their relationship didn't really changed. It evolved, into something deeper, something more meaningful. Something neither of them was ready for. Just when you thought everything was going well, and getting serious, here comes the ex... 

Parker's decision? It was unexpected. One of the most stupid things I've ever read. I wanted to go inside the book and shake the heck out of her. Argh.


And I thought they were best friends. How can she think poorly of him? How can she do that to him? Indeed, Parker totally annoyed me at this point. What in the world is wrong with her? How can she not notice that this man, who have been right with her all along is the best thing that could ever happen to her?

As for Ben,


He might have started out as a manwhore, but as we get to know him more we get to see the real him, we realize that he has the potential to be a great boyfriend, he's sweet, caring, funny and really, really good in bed. Now if only Parker can see that potential.

It's an old plot - I have read a dozen of this one, and still it never gets old. Falling in love with your best friend, and knowing its reciprocated might be the best thing that will ever happen to you. Considering that great relationships starts with being friends.

It's sweet, sexy, and fun. Parker can be annoying sometimes but it didn't stop me from enjoying this book. 

Characters: 3.5
Plot: 4.5
Steam: 4
Overall: 4


Lauren Layne graduated from Santa Clara University with a B.S. in political science that she has yet to put to good use. After dabbling in an e-commerce career in Seattle and Southern California, Layne moved to New York City, where she now writes full-time. She lives with her husband and their plus-size pomeranian in a tiny Manhattan studio.

Connect with Lauren: Facebook | Twitter | Website


 photo arc_zpsil36irc6.jpg

 photo signature_zps54068e08.png
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...