Sunday, February 15, 2015

ARC REVIEW | The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler


21793116




A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png

Purchase Link: (Available April 7, 2015)
❈ Amazon Kindle ➙ http://amzn.to/1EvAtku

Outside, she is fine.

Inside, her world is falling apart and no one was there to save her. Her father was too busy with work, and escaping their home. Her mother prefers to stay in the confines of her bed. Her sister chose to sleep-over a ‘friend’s’ house rather than her own home. She betrayed her only friend. Became friends with someone who was so unlike her and gets herself into trouble.

Until her father finally decided it all should stop and volunteered her at the local soup kitchen. Little did she know that volunteering will make tilt her world and change it. Meeting different kinds of people, learning their stories, and making new friends.

Then there was Flynn. He was not what she expected to be, but he saw through her barriers. He might not know everything that has been going through, but he can feel that there is something off with her. He listens to her, he became her friend.

But Flynn was completely her opposite. He was from the wrong side of the tracks. What would her family say? What about her new friends? Nevertheless, he was everything she needs, and while she can look past her differences, some could not. Could they possibly make it?

Flynn – he might be from the other side of the tracks and not-so-good neighborhood, but he was ambitious. He has pride, and he knows that he will not be in this part of the town forever. Perhaps this is why I like him. You knew by means of his determination that he will come a long way. He might have nothing now, but he was willing to work hard to achieve his dreams. Who wouldn’t fall in love with him?

The Truth About Us is a story of a girl who have been through a lot, lost her way, and found love somewhere in between. It’s a story about love that withstood differences and social status. It’s a story about second chances.

This is a book you wouldn’t want to miss. Janet Gurtler wrote an intense, raw, emotional book that will have you turning-the-pages in no time.



Follow the Author: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Website


 photo signature_zps54068e08.png

No comments:

Post a Comment