Sunday, August 31, 2014

Game Changer by Collette West - Book Review

22464513

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
BUY LINK: 
Smashwords - http://bit.ly/1x9BOZN

Young, rich, and unaware of how seriously hot he is, Brooks Davison is tearing it up as the latest shortstop for the New York Kings, despite his tendency to blush whenever girls scream his name. 

When a health scare forces his best friend, Kyle Roberts, off the team, no one can stomach the thought of replacing him, especially so close to the playoffs.

Until Kyle's sister, Sasha, steps in, convincing management to let her take his place. The idea of signing the first female player in Major League history proves too tempting for the Kings to resist.

Nevertheless, Brooks doesn't want any part of it. Sasha is Kyle's little sister, not some sideshow.

Yet when Kyle takes a turn for the worse, Brooks promises to do everything in his power to help Sasha win a championship for him. Because there's no way he's letting either of them down. Not now, not ever.


My Review
This is my second Collette West novel, and she had just gotten better. Not only was I introduced to the first girl who ever played in the King’s stadium – but I fell in love with this amazingly sexy, sweet, loyal and wonderful man who can turn any girl into mush with his smile.

They have known each other forever. Brooks has been friends with her brother Kyle since they were young but Brooks Davison fell in love with her the moment he saw her ‘grown-up’ picture. They spent an amazing time together during one of her brother’s destination wedding. But then, friendship got in the way. He had to promise to stay away from her. But it didn’t mean, he cared a little less. Because the distance, and the time they spent apart only intensified the yearning he has for her.

It took one ‘heart’ breaking tragedy for the two of them to finally meet again.

SHE THOUGHT THEY WEREN’T ON THE SAME PAGE.
They had a good time in Jamaica, but after he left without saying goodbye, and without contacting her – she assumed that he was just not that into her. She tried to move on, sweep her broken heart under a rug and concentrate on her studies.

But when Kyle, her brother, suffered from a heart ailment that jeopardized his position in the team – she decided to step in his number, his position and his team. Now if only she can convince the management to hire her. The Kings was handed down an irresistible offer that was too hard to resist: signing in the first female player in the Major League without anything in return.

ROSE AMONG THE THORNS
He didn’t want her to do it, but she was determined to. So, he took the sidelines and supported her. But it was killing him that he needed to watch his actions for both of their careers. The media would have a field day if they knew what was her to him.

This was a testosterone-dominated sport and Brooks will do anything to keep her safe – even if it means setting his emotions aside once again. Sasha thought she knew what was coming to her the moment she signed in. I guessed she underestimated everything…

I love Brooks! He’s a sweet, sweet man. I love how loyal he is to Kyle, and how he tried to respect whatever Kyle wanted at first. Although they were a lot of temptation in his type of career, he didn’t give in. He was so into Sasha to even consider other girls. When they were thrown back together, I was so glad he took the opportunity to be with her. Although there were times he needed to step back to protect her, and it was just painful to watch Sasha’s heart breaking because of it. Nevertheless, he got into his senses before he totally loses the girl. What I love about this guy, is that he knew how to wait for the perfect timing. He didn’t rush, he didn’t gave in to the temptation. He waited for this girl for a long, long time, a few more weeks, days wouldn’t bother him because he has to give her what she deserves: perfection.

Sasha is a girl with a very big heart. I love how she stepped in her brother’s shoes, and did everything to save him. It wasn’t an easy job. With all the scrutiny, the bullying, and the craps she had been thrown at – not to mention the delay in the progress of her lovelife: she stood firm and showed the whole world how amazing the first woman who played in the King’s field could be.

I had a whole lot of favorite scene in this novel, but one of my most favorite was the scene that involves a hospital bed, Kyle and the whole team.
Collette West had given her readers the front row seat to every game and every scene in Sasha & Brook’s life. I love her game-scenes, it’s a very vivid description, and it feels like I’m watching the game in the television, complete with heart-racing moments, heartbreaking defeats and exhilarating wins.

I can’t wait for Jilly’s turn!!!




The Author
Collette West grew up as somewhat of a jock-nerd hybrid. Entering the world three weeks premature, her dad nearly missed her birth because he had seats behind the dugout for a sold-out, highly-anticipated match-up between two of baseball's biggest rivals. Not to be outdone, her book-loving mom taught her how to read by the time she was three. A love of the game coupled with an appreciation for the written word were instilled in Collette's impressionable brain from a young age. No wonder her characters believe in the philosophy: sports + romance = a little slice of heaven.

 Splitting her time between the Pocono Mountains and Manhattan, Collette indulges her inner fangirl by going to as many games as she can from hockey to baseball and downloading every sports romance novel in existence onto her iPad. When she's not clicking away on her laptop, she enjoys walking her dog in Central Park, satisfying her caffeine craving at the Starbucks on Broadway and keeping an eye out for Mr. Right. But above all, she loves dishing with her readers. Email her at collette_west@yahoo.com.

Connect With Collette: Goodreads  |  Twitter  |  Facebook  
Sign-up form for email newsletter: http://eepurl.com/OetSj


 photo signature_zps54068e08.png

Friday, August 29, 2014

The Deal by Z. Elizabeth - Cover Reveal

Title: The Deal(#1)
Author: Z. Elizabeth
Genre: Erotic Romance
Release Date: December 1, 2014

EVERY SOUL by LK Collins - Cover Reveal, Giveaway


COVER REVEAL
EVERY SOUL by LK Collins
Genre: Erotic Romance

~ COVER INFORMATION ~
Cover Designer: B Designs
Model: Andrew England
Photographer: Michael Stokes

Thursday, August 28, 2014

FLY by T.A. Foster - Release Blitz, Book Review, Giveaway


BUY LINKS:
Smashwords:  http://bit.ly/YRrknN
iTunes:  http://bit.ly/1znYoip

Second Chances Series SPOTLIGHT TOUR: Fighting For Love by L.P. Dover - Book Review




Ten Below Zero by Whitney Barbetti - Release Blitz, Giveaway

10372538_432311836911306_3417942215105830623_n

Title: Ten Below Zero
Author: Whitney Barbetti
Release Date: August 28, 2014
Genre: New Adult Romance

Can't Let Go by Michelle Lynn - Release Blitz, Giveaway

You Loved Me At My Darkest by Evie Harper - Release Day Blitz, Giveaway


Title: You Loved Me At My Darkest
Series: You Loved Me #1
Author: Evie Harper
Release Date:  August 28, 2014

Everything I Need (Nashville Nights, #3) by Stacey Mosteller - Cover Reveal

Title: Everything I Need (Nashville Nights, #3)
Author: Stacey Mosteller
Release Date: September 4. 2014

Cover Photography & Design by: Sara Eirew Photographer & Designer

Everything I Need_amazon

   
About Everything I Need
SarahBeth Pearson has made mistakes, and I might just be the biggest one of them all. After spending months keeping secrets and lying to everyone close to us, its all fallen apart and we are each left alone to pick up the pieces.

Ive loved SarahBeth in one form or another her entire life. The steps that brought us closer together werent easy for me to take. After letting her dictate our relationship, Ive found myself practically homeless and estranged from my closest friends.



Now Im left trying to move on, finding a new place to live and getting everything I need in order, while shes trying to mend her broken heart. Theres just one problem…SarahBeths still keeping secrets - and her secret just might change everything.


goodreads
Buy Links: 


Excerpt
"Isn't that SarahBeth?" Melanie asks, looking over to where a small blonde and a brunette are running towards a hallway between stores that leads to restrooms. I jerk around in my seat, trying to look closer and when I see Tyler watching after them, holding a purse and a few shopping bags, I know for sure it's them. At my nod, Mel touches my hand, bringing my gaze back to her earnest one. "Don't you want to go check on her? Make sure she's alright?"

Do I want to? Yes, absolutely. Should I? Well, that's another matter entirely. I look back to the corridor they disappeared through, but don’t see them any longer. Just when I'm about to tell her no, I don't want to check on her, Tyler's eyes meet mine and the blatant worry in them has me nodding and heading in his direction. I don't look back to see if Melanie followed me because honestly, all I can think about is what could possibly put that look in Tyler's eyes.

"Is she okay?" It's all I can do to keep my voice level when I reach him and ask the question I need the answer to the most.

Tyler's looking everywhere but at me when he replies, "Yeah mate, she's fine. You can go back to whatever you were doing now." His voice is hard, it's easy to tell he's not happy at finding me with Mel, but his feelings aren't what worry me now.

Before I can ask any more questions, Olivia and Sarah are walking back in our direction. They both stop in their tracks when they see me standing with Tyler. The moment she notices Melanie standing next to me her already pale skin loses all color and she begins backing up, away from our little group. The hurt in her eyes has me moving towards her before I can even process it. I want to explain myself. When what I'm doing registers, I stop, trying to keep myself in place, but when her eyes fill with tears and they overflow, rolling soundlessly down her cheeks, I melt.

Reaching her, I cup her face in my hands, brushing away the tears as she trembles beneath me. It's the first time I've really touched her since everything went to shit and having my hands on her, having her this close to me, I feel like I've come home. Unable to hide the emotions racing across my face, I let her see just how much I've missed her as her breath catches in her throat. Her eyes are bouncing back and forth between mine in disbelief while the look on her face has me aching to touch my mouth to hers, to pull her into me so I can hold her.

I don't get the chance to do any of that because at the same time a hand touches my back, SarahBeth sucks in a breath and steps back, her eyes brimming with tears even while she glares up at me, betrayal all over her face. I want to explain, to tell her what I'm doing here with Mel, to reassure her that it's not what it seems, but in the back of my head I think this is a good thing. I want her to let go of me, to begin to move on, to find someone that deserves her. Letting her think I've replaced her, no matter how much it hurts us both, is probably for the best.

"Wait SarahBeth," Melanie begins as I step away from her touch. Instead, I grab the hand that was on my back and link our fingers together, this draws both her eyes and SarahBeth's. Mel's looks confused, but SarahBeth's guts me. She stares at our linked hands with an expression that's a cross between fury and despair before swiping her hands across her cheeks to brush away the few falling tears, and meeting my gaze head on.

Her eyes are sparking with a fire I haven't seen in so long that I'm almost relieved. As she straightens her spine and holds her head high. she turns to Mel and smiles. Just barely tipping the corners of her lips up her smile is clearly fake but there nonetheless, she says, "It's fine really. I'm glad he has someone." Mel starts to speak up, but SarahBeth keeps her eyes on me as Olivia walks up beside her, puts an arm around her shoulder and glares at me. If looks could kill...that girl hates me. She starts to say something in her ear, but Sarah shakes her head. "There's nothing to say. I'm done with this," with that said she scoots out from under Olivia's arm and turns her back on me, this time I'm sure for good, and leaves me to watch her walk away from me this time.

Tyler hurries to walk after them, muttering, "You're a bloody idiot mate," as he passes me. He doesn't get far before he stops, turns around and glares at me, much like Olivia did. "If you only knew..." he shakes his head, "Well, that would have gone a lot differently." I don't get the chance to ask him what he means before he heads after them, dropping an arm across each of their shoulders and handing the bags he was holding to Olivia.

Nashville Nights Series
Everything I Shouldn’t (Nashville Nights #2) also has a NEW COVER!!

Everything I shouldn't_amazon

 
Pre- Order Everything I Need (Nashville Nights, #3) today!
 
Never Wanted More (Nashville Nights #0.5)
 
Save Me From Myself (Nashville Nights #1) - MyReview
 
Everything I Shouldn’t (Nashville Nights #2) - MyReview
 
Second Chances
SecondChances
 

About Stacey
SMosteller Stacey is the New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author of Second Chances (co-authored with H.M. Ward) and the Nashville Nights series. She is also a wife, mother, writer and self-professed bookwhore - not necessarily in that order! As the mother of three growing boys, her Kindle has become her temporary escape from the insanity of boys, dogs and her husband. Stacey can usually be found curled up with her iPad when she's supposed to be writing or creating endless playlists on Spotify.




Everything I Need_full

love 2
 photo signature_zps54068e08.png

Her Destiny by Monica Murphy - Book Review







I knew from the moment I first saw him he was the one. The only boy I could ever want.
The only boy I could ever love.
They say he’s bad for me.
But I know he’s not.
Until the day he rejects me.
And breaks my heart.
Completely.
Everything changes in the blink of an eye. My entire life as I’ve known it is…gone. Secrets are revealed. Promises once made are irrevocably broken. There’s no way my family can get back to what we once were.
So when Nicholas Fairfield walks back into my life like he never left it, I’m furious. Thrilled. Irritated. Excited.
Conflicted.
Despite my confusion, I want to be with him. I love him. But danger lurks where we least expect it. Someone will do whatever it takes to tear us apart. All I know is: I won’t let them.
Because Nick Fairfield? He’s mine.



Book Review
Has it been three months? It felt like a year looking at Reverie. I didn’t really like her naïve, but being wild? OMG – what in the world happened?

REALITY. FINALLY.

She was living in a bubble in the previous book, and finally reality had burst it – sent her spiraling down the abyss. It didn’t help that the love of her life didn’t want to see her, or her parents were too busy with their own troubles. Good thing, she woke up before it was too late, and started picking up the pieces.

I like Reverie here. She was forced to grow up quickly due to the circumstances. Her character became relatable; she became mature, and more responsible. She was way stronger than before. But the real surprise here was Evan (will he have his story as well?) He annoyed me to death in the first book, being a douche and all, but here, he was the big brother every girl wants to have. He loves Rev, and he was forced to grow up as well. He didn’t just stand by her as a brother; he became a parent to her as well. You will just love him here.

As for Nick, I was glad he came to his senses and decided to go after Rev. But since he had hurt her, he had to make a lot of effort to be in her good graces again. I was glad Rev was strong enough to resist him.  He didn’t want to involve Rev in his troubles, but Rev gave him no choice.

I love this book way, way much than the first book. This one has all the answers to the questions that have been left in the first book. It didn’t drag; the revelations went smoothly all throughout. One surprise, after the other that will keep Monica’s reader glued to every page. The romance, the mystery and the suspense makes this book so worth the read and the perfect ending to Nick & Reverie’s story!

 
•Complimentary Copy was given in exchange for an honest review.•


*¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`**¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`**¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`**¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`**¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`**¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`**¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`*


His Reverie (Reverie, #1)
Seeing the blurb of HIS REVERIE (not to mention the beautiful cover) made me very curious to read this book. It didn’t say much, my curiosity was instantly piqued. A story about two polar opposite characters – a good girl, and a bad boy.

I like Nick! At a young age, he had been through so much. He went to jail for the crime he didn’t commit, his best friend and girlfriend turned their backs on him and just when he was about to start a new life when he was finally free, another tragedy struck. It was a little heartbreaking. But this guy? He didn’t falter, he tried to find work, and got himself employed by an evangelist.

As for Reverie, what can I say? I love the name, it sounded really different. BUT – I couldn’t relate to her. She was just too sweet, too naïve, too much!!!! She can be a brat at times, and annoying at some point. Is she really THAT sheltered?

And although this book was written beautifully, I must admit, there were times where the pacing dragged. It became slow, and there were times I wanted everything to push forward I was itching to skip some parts to get to the next one.

What I love about this book is the mystery that surrounds not only the Hale family, but the crime that has been pinned on Nick. Who was behind it all?

Nevertheless, I WAS SO GLAD I read this one when HIS DESTINY came out – because it ended with a cliffhanger!!! It ended just as when the good stuffs are about to be revealed! Monica Murphy sure knows how to give that twist and element of surprise when you least expect it!

 


About Monica
  
I write books. I have the best job ever. New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Writer of new adult contemporary romance-ish stuff. Published with Avon and Bantam. Mom and wife. Native Californian.
For more information, please visit my website at http://monicamurphyauthor.comor sign up for my newsletter (copy and paste the link into your browser):http://bit.ly/IW5U0y
I'm also known as USA Today bestseller romance author Karen Erickson (http://karenerickson.com).

Connect with Monica: Website  |  Blog  |  Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Author Goodreads  |  Amazon author page 






 photo signature_zps54068e08.png

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

RUIN by C.D. Reiss - Cover Reveal

Title: Ruin (Songs of Corruption, #2)
Author: C.D. Reiss
Genre: Erotic Romance
Release Date: October 14, 2014


Ruin front full


About Ruin
What happens when a mob capo falls for a lawful woman?

Does he ruin her, or does she ruin him?

Do they live together, or die together?

This is Antonio Spinelli's story.

WARNING: This book contains delicious sex scenes with a hot man dirty-talking in Italian; women handling firearms and explosives; and scenes of violence with a crystal virgin Mary cigarette lighter.  

goodreads
Pre-Order Ruin today!


The Series
Spin (Songs of Corruption, #1)
91flHyFJwLL._SL1500_

Mafia capo, Antonio Spinelli blew through my orderly life like a cyclone.

Gorgeous and passionate, with a breathtaking brutality, he put me under his spell the moment he touched me, drawing me into his underworld of risk, violence and betrayal.

And I found, just as this sophisticated savage didn’t trust me, I didn’t trust myself. Something happened to me. Some alchemy from the heat between us.

I discovered I was a savage, too.

Buy Links:

 
About CD Reiss
CD ReissCD Reiss lives smack in the middle of Los Angeles with her children and husband. She likes to make pretty pictures and write dirty scenes. She eats dark chocolate and chili, together, sometimes with bacon, and doesn't care what you think about that. There are a million more things she could tell you about herself besides that, but they're all too boring to mention in company.


 



love 2
 photo signature_zps54068e08.png

Shamed by Rachel Van Dyken - Cover Reveal

Shamed by Rachel Van Dyken
Cover Reveal
TBR - 10/26


Everything done in darkness, will eventually be brought into the light.

I ran, but all it did was keep me one step ahead of my past. I tried to start over; new name, new identity. But you can't change your soul.
A fresh start at college was just what I needed. For a while, it worked. I was the party girl, the one that seemed confident, but it was a lie.
When guys kissed me--I felt only pain. 
When they touched me--Nothing but fear.

Deep inside, every girl wants to be the beauty in the story, to find someone that will see you as their world.
But the truth? I was the beast. And as much as I wanted redemption, I wasn't fool enough to think I'd ever get it. 
Until he walked into my life.

I wasn't prepared to fall for someone. My scars were too deep, the wounds too raw. But he offered me peace, he offered me security. I should have known it was just another lie--I should have known that falling in love with my professor was a bad idea.
But I was powerless to stop myself from falling. 
And he was powerless to catch me.

Because the darkness finally caught up to me, and as fate would have it, a cruel twist almost bled me dry. But I'm stronger than I knew. I'm stronger than you think.
You think you know my story, but you don't....after all everyone has Shame in their lives-- and I'm no longer afraid to show you mine.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button3_zps6563a4df.png
Buy Links:




Excerpt
“Just hold still!” I yelled, holding up my phone while Gabe gave me the finger. I grimaced and dropped the camera away from my face. “Nice, thanks for that.”

“I’m a giver.” He smirked.

Saylor, his wife, smacked him on the arm and rolled her eyes.

“Ouch.”

I scrunched up my face when he leaned in and took Saylor’s mouth with his, kissing her senseless in the local Starbucks like they were doing a romance scene in a movie. I coughed.

They didn’t pull apart.

So I took a picture.

I earned another finger, but Gabe still didn’t dislodge from his wife.

“Whoa!” Wes’s voice sounded from behind me. “They been at it long?”

“Are all newlyweds disgusting?” I voiced aloud.

Wes moved around the table with his wife, Kiersten, and gave me a goofy shrug. I wanted to roll my eyes, but Wes was too nice and hot. Let’s not forget the hot part. Both he and Gabe were like walking poster boys for GQ. Both blond, now that Gabe had decided to dye his hair back to his original color. It was like staring at two really bright superstars.

Hating them was like hating the Easter bunny. Try all you want, but you’ll eat every piece of chocolate in the basket, just you wait.

“So, classes?” Kiersten leaned forward. “I heard you got stuck with that hot new psych prof.”

Wes growled low in his throat.

“Down boy.” I braced my hands on the table and laughed. “Besides he’s not that hot.”

“A girl passed out.” Kiersten’s eyebrows shot up. “Like in class.”

“Dehydration?” I shrugged, taking a sip of coffee.

“Or…” She leaned forward. “…the rumors are true.”

“Rumors…” Gabe backed away from Saylor, his lips swollen. “…are always based on truth.”

“So you really did do a naked dance in your underwear last week after getting drunk downtown at Pike Place Market?” I tilted my head and waited while Gabe rolled his eyes and popped his knuckles. “Exactly.”

He opened his mouth.

I took a picture.

With a grimace, he snatched my phone away from me. “Never thought I’d have to tell you to lay off the pictures, Miss Paparazzi.”

I slumped in my seat. “It’s for an assignment with that hot professor.”

“Aha!” Kiersten jabbed her finger at me. “I knew it.”

I pinned her with a look. “Sarcasm, friend, sarcasm.”

“Boys get girls pregnant,” Gabe offered, while Wes choked on the coffee he’d just stolen out of my hand.

Serves him right!

“Don’t date them.”

“You’re going to be a great dad.” I smiled sweetly. “What? You’re just going to lock your girls in their rooms and go—” I mimicked his voice. “—uh, you see boy parts are bad, they make girls have lots of babies, like rabbits, and you know how rabbits make dad nervous and—”

“Hilarious,” Gabe’s eyes narrowed. “And please don’t talk about kids yet…”

Saylor laughed quietly next to him then squeezed his arm.

My heart dropped.

A very long time ago, I’d wanted to be that for Gabe, then Taylor happened and well… I shuddered, blocking out the painful memories, the things I’d done, the things he’d done, the things we’d done.

“You okay?” Wes asked, his voice soft. He was way too perceptive for my taste. If I’d wanted to share, he’d be the guy I’d talk to, but I was a vault. Sharing meant admitting my guilt, and admitting meant I’d probably go insane just like he had.

“Yeah…” I straightened in my seat. “…I just don’t want to fail my class, and I need to write down nonverbal cues and take at least one picture. And pretty sure I need to ace this first assignment on account that I was late to my prof’s class, and I got in trouble.”

“He spank you?” Gabe’s eyes mocked across his coffee.

“Yes, Gabe,” I said calmly. “Because that’s how they punish bad students here at UW — with a yardstick and a smile.”

“I wish.” He whistled. “What I wouldn’t give to have Saylor—”

I plugged my ears.

He threw his head back and laughed while Saylor turned bright red and put her hand over his mouth to shush him.

“So…” Wes ignored Gabe as was his usual and leaned across the table. “…why don’t you take pictures of people here in the coffee shop? I mean, ask permission, but most people here are super interesting, right? Studying? Stressed out? Tired?” He pointed to a guy in the corner. “He looks like he’s running on five cups of coffee and one hour of sleep. Go ask, take the picture, make some notes, project done.”

“You make it sound so easy,” I grumbled.

He grinned. “I’m Wes Michels.”

I hung my head lower and grimaced.

“Phone.” He held out his hand and stood.

Within minutes, not only had he snapped two pictures for me but had taken notes on two pre-med students who had stayed up all night cramming for what they’d assumed would be a pop quiz, only to find out that they’d been in the wrong class on the wrong day.

“And that’s why I'm not pre-med.” Gabe shuddered.

“Really?” Kiersten asked. “I thought it was because big words scared you?”

“Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. What now?” He nodded. “Keep talking, Kiersten, or keep walking.”

“Spell it.” She smirked.

“So this professor…” Gabe changed the subject. “If he tries anything, use the Mace or the rape whistle.”

“Right.” I nodded. “I’ll be sure to do that. In class. With a hundred other students. When he looks at me cross-eyed.”

“Good,” he huffed.

“I was kidding.”

Saylor patted Gabe’s shoulder. “Gotta let the baby birds out of the nest someday, Gabe.”

The Author
Author Photo

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she's not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband and their snoring Boxer, Sir Winston Churchill. She loves to hear from readers!    
    






 photo signature_zps54068e08.png