Sunday, March 31, 2013

Book Review: True Love


Title: True Love
Author: Jude Deveraux
Publisher: Ballantine Books, EDP July 9, 2013
Series: Nantucket Brides Trilogy
Amazon|Goodreads
Review: 

Jude Deveraux, the New York Times bestselling author of unforgettable romance, returns with a breathtaking first book in a fantastic new series—the Nantucket Brides trilogy. Set on the magical Massachusetts island, True Love introduces characters from a new generation of Montgomery-Taggerts, the beloved family from Deveraux’s classic novels.

Just as Alix Madsen is finishing up architectural school, Adelaide Kingsley dies and wills her, for one year, the use of a charming nineteenth-century Nantucket house. The elderly woman’s relationship to the Madsen family is a mystery to the spirited Alix—fresh from a romantic breakup—but for reasons of her own Alix accepts the quirky bequest, in part because it gives her time to plan her best friend’s storybook wedding.

But unseen forces move behind the scenes, creaking Kingsley House’s ancient floorboards. It seems that Adelaide Kingsley had a rather specific task for Alix: to solve the strange disappearance of one of the Kingsley women, Valentina, more than two hundred years ago. If that wasn’t troubling enough, Alix must deal with the arrogant (and extremely good-looking) architect Jared Montgomery, who is living in the property’s guesthouse.

Unbeknown to Alix, Jared has been charged with looking after her while she lives on the island—an easy task for him, considering the undeniable chemistry between the two. But Jared harbors secrets of his own, which, if revealed, may drive a wedge between the pair.

With a glorious Nantucket wedding on the horizon, sparks fly, and the ghosts of the past begin to reveal themselves—some of them literally. Finding their lives inextricably entwined with the turbulent fortunes of their ancestors, Alix and Jared discover that only by righting the wrongs of the past can they hope to be together.

Saturday, March 23, 2013

Book Review: Depths by Steph Campbell & Liz Reinhardt





Title: Depths
Author: Steph Campbell, Liz Reinhardt
Publisher: CreateSpace, March 11, 2013
Series: Lengths #2
Amazon|Goodreads
Review: 

Do you believe in love at first phone call?

Cohen Rodriquez, Deo’s hilarious, über responsible best friend in LENGTHS got dumped by his longtime girl because he’s ‘not impulsive enough,’ and he's burned up.

But maybe, just maybe, she’s more right than he wants to admit. So he starts to date.
A lot.
But no one really feels like the one. And the more girls he dates, the more Cohen’s convinced she isn’t really out there.

Luckily he has Maren—the girl with the sexy voice who always cracks the best jokes. They’ve been talking daily for a year…on the phone. What started as all work soon blooms into friendship. Then she asks him.

Do you want to meet?

He's scared out of his mind to ruin the one easy, fun relationship he has going for him. But he takes the plunge, and things are just fine, totally easy and comfortable.

Except that they both sense it's not strictly platonic...there is an undeniable attraction and absolute raw chemistry between them…and every time they're in the same room, that attraction gets deeper and harder to ignore. 

Maren could be the best thing that’s ever happened to Cohen… Or she could send his carefully compartmentalized life into a tailspin.

Cohen has to decide if he’s ready to let go of his comfortable fantasy and embrace the one girl who might be able to change his luck in love.


Winners!!!!!

Thank you everyone for joining my 1st book giveaway raffle.

Our Winners drawn via rafflecofter, in this particular order:

Entry # 55 - Ms. Angel Geloryao: The Best of Me, Nicholas Sparks
Entry # 77 - Ms. Malou Bomediano: Have A Little Faith, Mitch Albom
Entry # 53 - Ms. Kathleen Vallejera: Reckless, Cornelia Funke
Entry # 43 - Ms. Gloucille Marie Jariol Villacastin: Hourglass, Claudia Gray
Entry # 81 - Ms. Jemai Patriarca Cañadilla: Coraline, Neil Gaiman

All winners will be notified via email on how the prices will be avail...

Again, thank you so, so much for those who participated in my first raffle, until next time :)



Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Lazy Wednesday #2


My week starts on a Wednesday...

I would have done this eons ago... 

BUT. There was a fire.

Not just one, but two fires!!!

Thank God it was already put out. No thanks to the fire department who arrived at the scene of the crime right after it was all said and done. So instead of sleeping until late afternoon, I was forced to get up earlier, with a heavy dosage of adrenaline and fixed all the important stuffs, placed it on my bag and was just ready to flee just in case the fire gets worse. When it was all over, and the adrenalin rush was almost out of my system - we all felt hungry and decided to order take out since none of us wanted to go out after what happened. 



Oh yes, ultimate pig out!!!!! Pizza, Lasagna, Garlic Sticks!!


Stalking My Shelves/Feeding My Kindle.

This week's read:

1. True Love by Jude Deveraux 
Expected Date of Publication: 7/09/2013

Jude Deveraux, the New York Times bestselling author of unforgettable romance, returns with a breathtaking first book in a fantastic new series—the Nantucket Brides trilogy. Set on the magical Massachusetts island, True Love introduces characters from a new generation of Montgomery-Taggerts, the beloved family from Deveraux’s classic novels.

Just as Alix Madsen is finishing up architectural school, Adelaide Kingsley dies and wills her, for one year, the use of a charming nineteenth-century Nantucket house. The elderly woman’s relationship to the Madsen family is a mystery to the spirited Alix—fresh from a romantic breakup—but for reasons of her own Alix accepts the quirky bequest, in part because it gives her time to plan her best friend’s storybook wedding.

But unseen forces move behind the scenes, creaking Kingsley House’s ancient floorboards. It seems that Adelaide Kingsley had a rather specific task for Alix: to solve the strange disappearance of one of the Kingsley women, Valentina, more than two hundred years ago. If that wasn’t troubling enough, Alix must deal with the arrogant (and extremely good-looking) architect Jared Montgomery, who is living in the property’s guesthouse.

Unbeknown to Alix, Jared has been charged with looking after her while she lives on the island—an easy task for him, considering the undeniable chemistry between the two. But Jared harbors secrets of his own, which, if revealed, may drive a wedge between the pair.

With a glorious Nantucket wedding on the horizon, sparks fly, and the ghosts of the past begin to reveal themselves—some of them literally. Finding their lives inextricably entwined with the turbulent fortunes of their ancestors, Alix and Jared discover that only by righting the wrongs of the past can they hope to be together.

2. A Woman Entangled by Cecilia Grant
Expected Date of Publication: June 25, 2013


An ambitious beauty seeking a spot among the elite is thwarted by a most disruptive gentleman in Cecilia Grant’s witty, elegant, and exquisitely sensual novel.

Kate Westbrook has dreams far bigger than romance. Love won’t get her into London’s most consequential parties, nor prevent her sisters from being snubbed and looked down upon—all because their besotted father unadvisedly married an actress. But a noble husband for Kate would deliver a future most suited to the granddaughter of an earl. Armed with ingenuity, breathtaking beauty, and the help of an idle aunt with connections, Kate is poised to make her dreams come true. Unfortunately, a familiar face—albeit a maddeningly handsome one—appears bent on upsetting her scheme.

Implored by Kate’s worried father to fend off the rogues eager to exploit his daughter’s charms, Nick Blackshear has set aside the torch he’s carried for Kate in order to do right by his friend. Anyway, she made quite clear that his feelings were not returned—though policing her won’t abate Nick’s desire. Reckless passion leads to love’s awakening, but time is running out. Kate must see for herself that the charms of high society are nothing compared to the infinite sweet pleasures demanded by the heart.

3. Levitating Vegas by Jennifer Echols
EDP: May 7, 2013


Nothing up her sleeves...or so she’s been led to believe.

Showgirl Holly Starr is sick and tired of assisting her dad, a celebrity magician, in his Las Vegas casino magic show. As soon as he keeps his promise to her and shares the secrets to his tricks, she can break out on her own. But can she really make it? For years Holly has taken medication to stave off crazy hallucinations that she can levitate objects. Just when she thinks she’s ready to make a career and a life for herself, her medicine—and her luck—run out.

Elijah Brown suffers from a similar delusion—that he can read minds—and he’s out of medicine too. Determined to save himself and his old flame Holly, he kidnaps her and takes her straight to the source, a town high in the Rockies where their medicine is made. What they discover there leads them to suspect their powers are not imaginary after all...and neither is the intense attraction they feel for each other.

They make a pact to stick together as they return to Vegas to confront the people who kept them in the dark so long. But soon they’re pitting their powers against each other in a dangerous world where the nightlife is seductive, domination is addictive, the sex is beyond belief...and falling in love is murder.


4. What The Duke Desires by Sabrina Jeffries 
EDP: June 18, 2013


Maximilian Cale, the Duke of Lyons, accepted long ago that his kidnapped brother was dead. When a cryptic note from investigator Tristan Bonnaud claims otherwise, Max seeks out Tristan’s sister, Lisette—and is infuriated to learn that Tristan has also mysteriously vanished. Have the siblings perpetrated an elaborate hoax? Or is the fiercely protective beauty as innocent as she claims them to be?

Fearful that the powerful Duke will destroy Tristan’s career in his zeal for the truth, the clever Lisette convinces Max to accompany her to Paris in a joint search for their loved ones. But their journey takes a seductive twist when they pose as an ordinary husband and wife—not an English Duke with a tarnished family name and the illegitimate daughter of a viscount—and discover an exhilarating passion free from the damning secrets of the past. With the line between danger and desire enticingly blurred, they discover that some mysteries, like those of the heart, are answered tenfold in the bliss of a true and trusting love




5. You Look Different in Real Life by Jennifer Castle
EDP: June 4, 2013

For the rest of the world, the movies are entertainment. For Justine, they're real life.

The premise was simple: five kids, just living their lives. There'd be a new movie about them every five years, starting in kindergarten. But no one could have predicted what the cameras would capture. And no one could have predicted that Justine would be the star.

Now sixteen, Justine doesn't feel like a star anymore. In fact, when she hears the crew has gotten the green light to film Five at Sixteen, all she feels is dread. The kids who shared the same table in kindergarten have become teenagers who hardly know one another. And Justine, who was so funny and edgy in the first two movies, feels like a disappointment.

But these teens have a bond that goes deeper than what's on film. They've all shared the painful details of their lives with countless viewers. They all know how it feels to have fans as well as friends. So when this latest movie gives them the chance to reunite, Justine and her costars are going to take it. Because sometimes, the only way to see yourself is through someone else's eyes.

Smart, fresh, and frequently funny, You Look Different in Real Life is a piercing novel about life in an age where the lines between what's personal and what's public aren't always clear




Sunday, March 17, 2013

Book Review: Dusk With A Dangerous Duke by Alexandra Hawkins

Lords of Vice



Title: Dusk with a Dangerous Duke
Author: Alexandra Hawkins
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks, February 26, 2013
Series: Lords of Vice #6
Source: Purchased
Amazon|Goodreads
Review: ✩ (3.5 stars)

They were children when the Duke of Huntsley was introduced to Lady Grace Kearly. The young duke—nicknamed “Hunter”—took one look at his future bride and thought only of escaping his responsibilities to his family. Marriage was for grown-ups and Hunter still had years of skirt-chasing ahead of him. But now the time has come for Hunter to heed the call: if this Lord of Vice hopes to keep all of his inheritance, he’ll have to claim his long-neglected betrothed…

With her twenty-first birthday approaching, Lady Grace dreads the thought of marrying the duke she has met only once—especially since he’s grown into a notorious rake who will probably beget his heir and abandon her in the country while he pursues fresh game in London. So when Lady Grace coolly decides to call the wedding off, even Hunter is surprised by his refusal to let her go. Suddenly, the notion of claiming and taming this green-eyed beauty is one challenge he cannot resist…

Saturday, March 16, 2013

An Amazing Debut from Ms. Macnamara







Book Title: A Most Scandalous Proposal
Author: Ashlyn Macnamara
Publisher: Ballantine Books, February 26, 2013
Source: Netgalley
Amazon|Goodreads
Review: ✩ (3.5 stars)

In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries—two childhood friends in Regency England discover love with the most unlikely of partners: each other.

After watching her beloved sister Sophia pine over the ton’s Golden Boy for years, Miss Julia St. Claire has foresworn love and put herself firmly on the shelf. Unfortunately, her social-climbing mother and debt-ridden father have other ideas, and jump at the chance to marry Julia off to the newly-named Earl of Clivesden…the man of Sophia’s dreams.

Since resigning his Cavalry commission, Benedict Revelstoke has spent his time in London avoiding the marriage mart. But when he discovers that the Earl of Clivesden has set Julia in his sights, Benedict tries to protect his childhood best friend from the man’s advances—only to discover more than friendship driving his desire to defend her. He surprises them both with the force of his feelings, but when she refuses him and her father announces her betrothal, he fears he’s lost her forever—until Julia approaches him with a shocking scheme that will ruin her for all respectable society…

…and lead them into an exquisite world of forbidden pleasures.

Friday, March 15, 2013

Familiar, Yet Better







Title: On an Edge of Glass
Author: Autumn Doughton
Published: March 9, 2013
Source: Amazon
Add this book on Goodreads
Review: 


You can’t plan for everything…

That’s what Ellie Glass realizes after she has a chance encounter with a young musician. Long-haired, a bit scruffy, and undeniably sexy, he’s the exact opposite of her “type,” but now Ellie can’t stop thinking about him. When fate intervenes and the two are thrown together, Ellie gets more than she bargained for. Pretty soon she finds herself feeling and doing things that she never thought were possible. 
This is the captivating story of an undeniable attraction, the choices that we make, and ultimately, the unexpected power of love





The best things in life are free.


Indeed, I got On an Edge of Glass for FREE at Amazon.

Oh yes, Ms. Autumn Doughton did it again!

And as I have expected - it was awesome. Okay, a little bit cliche, with a plot that I have read a couple of times out of a YA cover, but Ms. Doughton can spin magic out of it. She writes in a way as if  readers can find it familiar but somehow, better and a little bit different than usual.


Why pursuing anything with Ben is a bad idea? -Ellie
1. He's not my type. He's scruffy, whereas I'm put together. I wear cardigans for God's sake. I think that effectively blocks me from being allowed to date musicians
2. Ben is my roommate
3. I made a pact with Payton and Ainsley. I made the two of them promise that they wouldn't go after Ben, regardless of how tempting he turned out to be. That has to stand for something

Character Profile


some_text
Name: Elizabeth Jane Glass or Ellie 
Qualities: Intelligent, talented photographer, type-A personality (obsessed with plans), a very good friend, not-so-good communication skills.
Current Activities: Reviewing for LSAT (Law School Admission Test)
Future Plans: Ace LSAT, go to NY for summer internship, go to Columbia for law (like her parents), and join her parent's practice as a corporate lawyer - whew! big plans!!
Roomies: Payton and Ainsley
What I love/hate about her: she's a dear, a great friend, someone who loves to plan things ahead,like I do but she can also be a pain in the a**, especially when she runs away from something without confronting it, she could be intelligent but when it comes to the matters of the heart - she's going to fail without a doubt.


some_text
Name: Benjamin Hamilton or Ben Profile: tall, dark, handsome, lankyCurrent Activities: he's proficient on three instruments, plays cello at the university, bassist for a local indie bandFuture plans: going for auditioning for several orchestra placementsCurrent Address: apparently, he's Ellie's new roomie!What I love/hate about him: I'd say he's a total boyfriend material: he's sweet, doesn't do drugs, doesn't have dirty secrets, no big family drama, isn't a womanizer (although anyone can fall at his feet, esp groupies). I find him cute especially when he turns shy, he's witty, has a heart that's ready to love and honest with his feelings (at first), but of course what more can you take when the girl you wanted the most won't give you a chance to explain?Favorite Scenes1.) On the doorstep: Ellie and Mark were talking about they boy she met on a coffee shop, and here was the boy coming on their way.
Ben
some_text

Ellie: 
some_text


Mark: 
some_text


2) The Lunch with Dad - it was so funny, it's like watching Ellie shrinking into her sit with all those funny stories her dad was sharing with Ben from her youth. I was glad that her dad instantly liked Ben as well. Even though her father only appeared a couple of times in this book - he projected a kind, and understanding father who's willing to support her daughter whatever her decisions are. (The way Ellie was trying so hard with the exams- I thought her parents were very strict and wanted nothing but excellence for their daughter - but it was the exact opposite!)

Favorite Characters
How can I not adore Mark he's the gay best friend who's uber-loyal to Ellie but won't take any sh*t coming from her. He's her number 1 fan and critic, he's honest with her and points out what exactly he sees and best of all, he's there when he's needed. He's super fun and I couldn't help but laugh when he comes in the picture.

Asher - just a little bit of him on a chapter and I totally want to get to know Ben's younger brother more. Unlike Ben who seems to be shy and simple, his younger brother is cocky, and plays lacrosse and baseball. Oh yes, he could be a great main character in the making, wouldn’t you say so, Ms. Autumn? :)

Roomies: Payton and Ainsley, besides Mark, they were Ellie's best friend. They wanted Ellie to have fun instead of burying herself in piles of LSAT reviewers, they encourage her to go out, have fun and date. They were very, very understanding when the truth finally revealed itself.

Final Words: I had a grand time reading this novel, it was short with just enough angst, drama and comedy to complete my day. Yes, our dear Ellie frustrates me, and I would have strangled her if she were a true human being, and I would have love to read what was going on inside Ben's mind. Going to recommend it to friends who love a feel-good, not-so-emotionally-draining, amazing book. And yes, I will patiently wait for the next Autumn Doughton novel.

Let me give you that hug again:
some_text

THANK YOU SO, SO MUCH!

“Happiness isn't something that you plan for. It comes knocking unexpectedly, just like opportunity. And it's up to you to answer the door and invite it inside.” 

“I love you back - in a big and epic way.” 

“Insecurity is like a net, and I let it catch me.” 

“I'm being fair, it was the best kiss of my life- a kiss that finds all your seams and pulls them apart, stitch by detail stitch.” 

“I can assure you that a kiss under the influence does not equal long-lasting romance.” 

“Crushes are for fourteen year olds. Ellie, I would describe what's happening to you as falling.” 

“This is no shy, just-between-friends kiss. This is a kiss unlike any that I've ever had. It's the kiss of a hundred thumping kick drums, a raging earthquake.” 

“But, here's a sad fact: perfect isn't meant to be. When you aim for perfect, you just wind up ruined.” 

“Sometimes things don't work out like we plan. Like, maybe life has other things in mind.” 

“Here's what I think: it's one thing to know that rejection is coming, and it's an entirely different thing when it arrives.” 

“He looks at you like you're the only person in the room. Like he's trapped underwater and you're an oxygen tank. Like he's in anaphylactic shock and you're an EpiPen.” 

“Life is unpredictable and it doesn't follow a map.” 

“Look, haven't you ever heard that musicians play from the heart? Well, I can't be expected to play in California when my heart's over two thousand miles away.” 

“I guess, sometimes the most inexplicable things end up being the ones that work the best.” 


Photo grabbed from Amazon
Autumn Doughton

 My first love is reading. My second love is pizza.

Currently, I live in Gainesville, Florida and I write books. Fun books for you, and your sister, and your best friend, and your hair dresser, etc. I think of writing as a sort of therapy, and the results tend to be feel-good odes to my lost youth, which is exactly how I like it.

When I'm not working or chasing after my two daughters, two dogs, two cats, three ducks and one lovely husband, I can be found skulking around the movie theater or local bookseller. Generally with chocolate somewhere on my person because I never leave home without a treat.

follow her: goodreads



♥.♥.♥




Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Lazy Wednesdays


It's my first Lazy Wednesday Post.

So Why Wednesday

This is the most important part of my week!

It's my day off!! - If I'm lucky, I get to have Thursday.
But then, again, luck is seldom on our side considering we are under staff at work.

Anyway what am I doing on my day off??
SLEEP - because it's a luxury
READ - because it's a way of life
EAT - because it's a necessity. 

and not to mention, stalking my shelves or feeding my Kindle.

This week, I might say that the best things in life are free!!


Because I got On An Edge of Glass 
by Autumn Doughton
for free over Amazon :)


This one too!! 
Elizabeth Reyes' Noah



For now, allow me to read this and just set aside my
TBR list...

#excitedmuch!


Book Giveaways!

Hello there!!!

This is my first book give away. So let me start this right - just finished cleaning out my shelves and was thinking of giving away some of my books. Take note: They are still new and sealed. But I have read them already through my Kindle. Instead of letting it collect dust on my shelf, I decided I might as well try to give them away as a price.


Have A Little Faith, Mitch Albom
The Best of Me, Nicholas Sparks
Reckless, Cornelia Funke
Hourglass, Claudia Gray
Coraline, Neil Gaiman

First, read these giveaway rules:
- Entrants must have a mailing address within the Philippines
- Entrants should be 13 years old or above.
- There will be 1 winner for each book, randomly selected.
- Contest ends 3/24/2013, 12AM EST

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Goodluck!!!


Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Book Review: With This Kiss Part 1 by Eloisa James

Eloisa James




Book Title: With This Kiss
Author: Eloisa James
Publisher: Avon Impulse, March 12, 2013
Series: With This Kiss
Source: Purchased
Amazon|Goodreads
Review: 

Lady Grace Ryburn, the daughter of the Duke and Duchess of Ashbrook, has fallen wildly in love with Colin Barry, a dashing young lieutenant serving his country in the Royal Navy. When he returns home to exuberant celebrations, will he even notice the quiet wallflower he grew up with … or will he fall for Grace's sparkling, gorgeous sister?

Author's Note: Lady Grace is the eldest daughter of the Duke and Duchess of Ashbrook, from The Ugly Duchess, and Colin is the eldest adopted son of Sir Griffin Barry, from Seduced by a Pirate.


Review:

With This Kiss is the reason why I love Regency Romance Novels
and why I loathe cliffhangers!


Sunday, March 10, 2013

Book Review: Surrender Your Love by J.C. Reed




Book Title: Surrender Your Love
Author: J.C. Reed
Expected Publication: March 15, 2013
Source: Author
Goodreads
Review: 

Meeting Jett was like lightning. Dangerous. Better left untouched. And better forgotten. But lightning always strikes twice.

Brooke Stewart, a realtor in New York, doesn’t do relationships. When she’s sent to a remote estate to finalize a real estate deal, she discovers her new boss is no other than the guy she left naked in bed.

Sexy, dangerously handsome, and arrogant Jett Mayfield attracts trouble, and women, like a lightning rod. But the night he meets Brooke he gets more than he bargained for. The green-eyed millionaire playboy isn’t used to taking no for an answer, and he isn’t about to start now.

When he proposes two months of no strings sex, Brooke is intrigued and accepts his proposal. Little does she know Jett’s determined to claim the one woman he can’t have, pulling her deeper into his dangerous world.

A man who doesn't take 'no' for an answer.
A woman afraid to surrender to love.
Two lives that are about to cross...and secrets laid bare.



Book Review: Always On My Mind by Bella Andre

Book Freak



Title: Always on My Mind
Author: Bella Andre
Series: Sullivan Series #8
Published Date: March 5, 2013
Source: Purchased
Amazon|Goodreads
Review:

Lori “Naughty” Sullivan finally falls in love in ALWAYS ON MY MIND, the new book in Bella Andre’s New York Times and USA Today bestselling series about the Sullivan family.

After a tragic loss three years ago, Grayson Tyler left his life in New York City behind and started over in the rolling hills of the California coast. He's convinced himself that all he'll ever need again is the blue sky, a thousand acres of pasture, and the crashing waves of the ocean. Until one day, Lori Sullivan barges into his life and promptly blows his emotionless and solitary world to shreds, driving him crazy as only a woman nicknamed “Naughty” can. But will Lori be able to convince him that it's safe to love her...and that forever isn't actually out of reach?

Saturday, March 9, 2013

Swoon!




Book Title: Wait For You
Author: J.Lynn AKA Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Self Published, February 26, 2013
Source: Purchased
Amazon|Goodreads
Review: 



Some things are worth waiting for…

Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago—an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe—please God—make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.

Some things are worth experiencing…

Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.

Some things should never be kept quiet…

But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?

And some things are worth fighting for…


Thursday, March 7, 2013

Romeo Oh Romeo



Book Title: Lover Be Mine
Author: Nicole Jordan
Publisher: Ballantine Books, May 28, 2013
Series: Legendary Lovers #2
Source: Netgalley
Amazon|Goodreads 
 Review: 


From New York Times bestselling author Nicole Jordan comes this Romeo and Juliet-like story-the scorching second book in her wickedly sexy Legendary Lovers regency romance series, following Princess Charming.

When Lord Jack Wilde's cousin tries to match him with Lady Sophie Fortin, he isn't too thrilled by the prospect since Sophie's family has long feuded with the Wildes. Nevertheless he attends a masquerade ball in disguise and when he meets Sophie, he's drawn to her. The attraction is mutual-until she learns who he is. Angry that Jack has tricked her into lowering her guard under false pretenses, Sophie declares she doesn't ever want to see him again. But then Jack shows up in unexpected places, driving her crazy with his seductive advances. She doesn't want her parents finding out that she even knows him, let alone succumbed to his passionate kisses. If her father discovers Jack courting her, blood could be shed. Yet, Sophie still wants him and realizes that in order for the star-crossed lovers to be together, they must try to somehow settle the bitter feud between their families once and for all.


Friday, March 1, 2013

Book Review: An Act of Persuasion by Stephanie Doyle


Stephanie Doyle




Book Title: An Act of Persuasion
Author: Stephanie Doyle
Publisher: Harlequin, March 1, 2013
Series: Tyler Group #2
Source: Netgalley
Amazon|Goodreads
Review: 

For all the wrong reasons?

Anna Summers has always been more than Ben Tyler's assistant. She's even been more than his best friend. Too bad Ben didn't realize it until after she quit. Now that he's more like his old self after facing off against a life-threatening illness, he's ready to win Anna back.

Of course, it's not simple. One night Ben broke his own rule about getting involved with an employee. And now Anna is pregnant. She refuses to let him use the baby as a reason for them to reconcile. It will take an act of persuasion to convince her they belong together... and not only because of the baby.